What are the Recertification Requirements?

NBCRNA uses Continued Professional Certification (CPC) for their recertifications. The CPC program supports lifelong learning and the strong CRNA credential, protecting your ability to continue practicing as a CRNA. 
The NBCRNA requirements are outlined on the CPC website.
recertCRNA is here to help you make this recertification process easy, simple, and very straightforward.

Our courses are divided into short self-contained sections. When one section is done, you are done with that material; no circling back during a final exam. Not having to worry about already watched material is one of the core concepts of recertCRNA's business model. 


NBCRNA is the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. NBCRNA is our certifying body for both the initial and continued certification. NBCRNA is dedicated to promote patient safety by enhancing provider quality in the field of nurse anesthesia.


The recertification process is an 8-year process, although CRNAs must recertify every 4 years, and do a check-in every 2 years to validate state licensure, confirm active practice, and update contact information with NBCRNA.

CPC Program

The Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program reinforces the validity and value of your CRNA credential, demonstrating your high level of expertise to patients and other healthcare providers.

CPC Core Modules

Core Modules are specialized Class A credits that are designed to help the CRNA stay current within four specified areas: Airway Management, Applied Clinical Pharmacology, Human Physiology and Pathophysiology, and Anesthesia Equipment and Technology.

Recertify Every 4 Years

CRNAs must recertify every four years, which requires a minimum of 100 hours of continuing education credits. You may take all these credit hours at any time you please. You do not need to take 25 credit hours every year, but must have 100 credit hours to recertify at the end of your 4-year certification period.


The CPCA, or Continued Professional Certification Assessment assesses your knowledge in the same four core domains as the Core Modules does. You must take this  assessment every 8 years. Most CRNAs will be doing this for the first time this recertification cycle. The CPCA is not a pass/fail test, and will not impact your ability to practice. The test is to identify strengths and possible weaknesses and provide feedback on those areas.